RBL Square Pants Franken

This is for Joy, who asked to a RBL Square Pants duplicate. It’s a pale yellow jelly. In some photos, it looks like it has microshimmer, and in others, it looks creme. But $18 a bottle? Unless you’d wear this a lot, that’s quite a high price tag.

The color doesn’t work at all on my skin tone, but it’s a fun and interesting color. Unfortunately, today is cloudy and this is a color that needs full sun to look best.

img_4921

First step: Make a yellow creme, or use Orly Spark, which is what I did. The secret to the RBL jelly finish is a LOT of gloss.

I poured out the Orly Spark (about the size of 4 peas) into my pallette. In a seperate area, I mixed three drops of creme white and one TINY- as small as you can get- drop of black to make a very light gray. I scooped this up with my brush and mixed it into the Orly. This was to make the shade a little closer to the RBL- the Orly is a bit too “sunny” yellow to be a perfect match. Just add a tiny smidge of gray- you can do the franken without it too, but the shade will be a little off.

Add an equal amount of gloss to the Orly puddle- don’t use quick dry if possible. Mix together well and you’ll have a yellow jelly. Mine took three coats to be semi-opaque.

img_4916

There you go- hope this can save someone a couple dollars!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Famous Frankens, Nail polish, Pastel, Yellows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to RBL Square Pants Franken

  1. Deniz says:

    I love that collection, but didn’t purchase, $54 for 3 polishes? Come on… =) But I’d really, really like to see you do Bikini Bottom… Would two requests from the same collection be too much?… Oh, Essie Starry Starry Nights would work for me, too =) (I don’t know if you’ve already done that, I’ll go check now!)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Deniz- Your wish is my command! I’ll do Bikini Bottom soon. I liked the shade of that one, but it looks way too sheer for my taste.
      Essie Starry Starry Nights is actually another request I got- I’ll give it a try too. :)

  2. Joy says:

    Thanks so much! You’re so quick on the requests :) Too bad you didn’t like it on you.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Joy- My pleasure! I’m always happy to do a request. I’m not a big fan of yellow against my super pale skin, but it’s a fun color anyway. Happy frankening!

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    I love this banana colour on polishes. It’s hard to find it on websites to order to Sweden.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Alexlydra- Just mix a teeny bit of light gray into a creme yellow, and you’ll get banana pudding. By the way, I’m dying to go to Scandanavia and plan to take a trip there next summer. Where in Sweden are you?

  4. Laine says:

    That’s a ridiculously good dupe!!! What great frankening! I love it

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Laine! The secret is a lot of gloss. I’m doing RBL Bikini Bottom soon too. Also: Essie Starry Starry Night, though I don’t know if I have the right kind of glitter. Let me know if there’s anything you want to see!

  5. Lucy says:

    OMG what a perfect match you made. You are a Goddess!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aww, Lucy, you’re making me blush! I’ll be doing Bikini Bottom (the aqua bluish green from the same collection) soon.

Leave a Reply

