Pigment Haul From Fyrinnae

As you ladies and gents know, I’m an animal lover and always on the lookout for cruelty-free cosmetics that aren’t tested on animals.

When I mix frankens, I often use pigment, which is basically powdered paint. Some artists pigments can be safe to use, but most are not.  Some are extremely toxic. Please don’t unwittingly paint your nails with cadmium! Your manicure will look great, but your hair will fall out and your bones will dissolve.

The safest way not to poison yourself for fashion, then, is to buy cosmetic-grade pigments. Often these are sold as “mineral makeup” or “loose eyeshadow.” Luckily, this trend is catching on and it’s easier to find loose cosmetic pigment. Before the mineral makeup boom, it was much harder.

Recently, I mentioned Fyrinnae, a vegan cosmetics company that has tons of pigment (sold as “Loose Eyeshadow”) and they sell samples too! Each sample was under $2 and should be good for at least 1-2 franken-manis.

img_4834

Now, I know you’ve all been dying to see my scrawny little arm, so today is your lucky day! I’ve swatched some of my favorites.  They are really hard to photograph.

img_4855

Left to right: Helena and Dimitrius, Healer’s Touch, Fyre and Ice, Wicked, Biker Chic

img_4842

Arch Mage, Bastet, Digital Faerie, Sorceress and Biker Chic again.

These are a few of the ones I’ll be using in some frankens soon!

The pigments seem to hold up well in frankens, but I’ve only just started using them. The shipping was free, even to Japan, which was a nice refreshing change.

I also got some MAC pigments as well from another store, but they didn’t arrive yet. MAC is also cruelty-free, if you need a reason to splurge on some cosmetics and don’t mind snooty salesclerks. I may just be unlucky, but that’s what I’ve experienced each time.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Cruelty-Free/Animal Testing, Supplies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pigment Haul From Fyrinnae

  1. I have thought about doing pigments, but just haven’t made that leap yet. I can’t wait to see what you will do with these!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- If you don’t use the pigments for frankens, they can be used as eyeshadow or Halloween makeup or even for crafts. I use them a lot in art too!

  3. Lucy says:

    I love minerals. So many beautiful colors. Much cheaper than other makeups. Especially when you can buy samples. Great for you that it’s free postage. You must pay a fortune in postage for anything from the States.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Lucy- I sure was happy about the free shipping. I haven’t tried the colors as eyeshadow yet- I’m pretty hopeless about makeup on my face!

  5. Sachi says:

    OHHH Pigments how I love you so!!! I mix mine with my Acrylic powders and my gels for new colors on nails!!!Now I am mixing it with Shellac to make all the neat colors I want with that! I have mixed it with clear polish in the past to make nail polish. Let your self run wild! this is my favorite brand of pigments… http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=pigments&hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=tOQ&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&prmd=ivnsb&resnum=3&biw=1024&bih=574&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=15315315255386937204&ei=8n5TTbvWNoX6sAP34o2VBA&sa=X&oi=product_catalog_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CGwQ8wIwAA#

Leave a Reply

