Icing Pink

First of all, let me apologize for the awful cuticles.  I was in a huge hurry when I did this manicure! Luckily, I have a secret weapon: Q-Tips filled with nail polish remover. They snap open and the polish remover flows into the tip. The other end has cuticle oil in it to apply afterwards.  They’re about $3 for 12, but well worth it.  There’s a lot of intriguing nail art stuff in Japan- pricey, but interesting.

Anyway, onward to today’s franken!

img_2928

Why exactly did I buy glittery purple eyeshadow from the dollar store? Because it was sparkly, that’s why! The formula is really bad (which I expected, being a dollar and all), but the colors were intriguing. I poured a little bit of Sinful Colors Pearl  Harbor (left) into my muffin tin and added the pinkish purple polish. Voila! It made a sparkly shell-pearl, nice for a spring day.

img_2926

img_2925

Try adding eyeshadows you don’t use to your polishes to get a new color. The best way is to brush the eyeshadow into the polish and then mix. Add a little at a time, stir, and then add more. If it gets too thick, add more polish or clear topcoat to make the formula flow better.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Pastel, Pinks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Icing Pink

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    Cute franken! You’re really inspiring (?) me to make my own frankens, but I’m scared, haha. Can anything go wrong if you just mix two polishes together? Like, the bottle will explode or something? :P I think about the chemicals and such..

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Alexlyndra,
      Before you mix up whole bottles of polish, just mix a little bit, like enough for one manicure. Polishes won’t explode or anything like that, but if you’re making a whole bottle, it’s easy to waste a lot of polish. Get an artist pallette or small plastic container and pour small amounts of polish in (like the size of a pea). Then mix them and see what you get! It’s better than making a whole bottle of ugly color- trust me!

  2. Hey girl! I just checked out your shop! Looks great! YOu have more offered on there than I thought you would already. I have to tell you that “Stayin’ Undead” has got to be one of THE best names I have heard! You crack me up.

Leave a Reply

