MAC Peppermint Patty- Update

Well, after doing a MAC Peppermint Patty (or is it Patti?) franken this morning, some readers said the color was good,   but PP actually leaned slightly more yellow.

Today, my guy and I went out to the photo studio to dress up in traditional Japanese costumes as samurai and geisha- the cherry blossoms are out, the weather has been beautifully clear, and we needed a little pick-me-up.

We dressed up and did the photos- I don’t know how those poor geisha walked around, danced, played instruments and entertained heads of state. I could barely breathe. Wearing a kimono is not for the claustrophobic!

Oh, and they wear super-slippery lacquered 4″ flip-flops made of wood that are outrageously hard to walk in. And you have to look demure while not tripping. Amazing.

img_3589

A fun experience, but I was pretty glad to get out of that get-up!

So, after we left the photo studio, I had greasy hair, not a lick of makeup except the traces of white that I didn’t manage to get off, and basically looked a mess.

But while walking from the photo studio to the train station….I just happened to pass MAC! The staff in Japan at other MAC counters have been quite rude to me in the past, but I had never been to their main flagship store in a snooty area of Tokyo (Omotesando). I felt apprehensive.

But, for the sake of providing my beloved readers with a totally accurate franken, I decided to brave going into the MAC Pro shop with waxed-up, unkempt hair and not a lick of makeup.

My sweet guy volunteered to get two coats of the genuine PP on his nails. I painted them while the black-clad staff glowered, and then we beat feet out of there.

I came back home and we got an exact match: 10 drops New York Summer Amaranth, 5 drops creme white, and two to three drops medium creme yellow (like OPI Need Sunglasses?) Mix together and and add one or two drops of creme white to lighten it up if needed. I added two small drops of white, mixed in, and got a dead-on match to the real PP on my guy’s hand.

img_3922

Above: The true color is washed out by the flash, but you can see it’s in the same color range and tone as the original.

img_3947

This color is the most accurate to real life, despite the weird lighting and my red hand. The couple drops of creme yellow made the former franken a dead-on match.

Unfortunately, it’s nighttime here and I’m changing my manicure. I’ll try to whip up another batch of PP franken-polish so I can take a daytime pic to show you the accuracy.

img_3482

New York Summer in Amaranth, Japanese dollar store white creme.

Usually I’m not quite this color obsessed, but when the opportunity presented itself to see the real color, I barged right in. And I got to irritate some snooty MAC staff at the same time!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Famous Frankens, Greens, Non-Nail Stuff, Pastel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to MAC Peppermint Patty- Update

  1. Deez says:

    { Ha-ha, snooty MAC Chicks! }

    i think you nailed it on the second try here.

    You certainly are lucky yo have a BF let you take a sample = to really get the color down. I think you did a good job matching this color, and I like the Beta version you made in your previous post, both are really nice colors.

    Also ~ I share your heartbreak about the critters for sale……. All we can do is keep spread’in the word.

    Have a nice Easter Weekend!

  2. Deniz says:

    There you go! Amazing Skills =D

  3. I’m really impressed by this color. I own the real PP and it’s dead-on. I think it’s cool how Amaranth is a favorite for franken-polish; I used it for a Zulu lookalike.

  4. eleira says:

    Wow! You got it spot-on! That was so cool of your guy to let you paint his nails with PP. I definitely want to try this now.

  5. Brooke says:

    Jen I am still laughing at your tale from the MAC store! lol Get ‘em girl! I avoid makeup and perfume counters like the plague! I can’t stand the stuck up women that work them either. Good for you!

    THe picture looks wonderful! Is that your bf’s real hair? You all look so cute! I think I would fall forward in those shoes you are wearing! lol But I bet it was fun to get a taste of what it was like to wear those clothes. Thanks for sharing the pics :)

    Great job on the pp – but I think it’s a TAD over rated simply because it is MAC and LE. I have a 67 cent mint green polish that I adore! But to each his own I guess :)

  6. Lucy says:

    Thank you so much for the color correction Jen. That is really a fantastic match. Most exciting is your photograph. Wow you look beautiful! What an exciting opportunity to dress up like that and have a portrait taken. I think I would’ve broken my neck in those shoes. Handsome boyfriend and I can just see you painting his nails at Mac. How funny! I don’t know where thos MA’s get their snooty attitudes from. If it wasn’t for us they wouldn’t have jobs!

  7. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone!
    My guy is very sweet and is always willing to be the polish mule- he carries around hauls and doesn’t mind wearing skittles when there’s a lot of shades I want to try in the store. And that is his real hair in the photos, too. He also wanted me to mention that he is tough and scary.

    Although the MAC PP is a nice color, I don’t see the big deal. I found it a bit streaky and overpriced. A full bottle of my franken would cost about 75 cents, if that. And the attitudes of the staff don’t help either. If they were nice or helpful, I might consider buying a bottle, but so far that hasn’t happened.

    Have a great Easter weekend everyone! One more mani coming up!

  8. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Deez- You go sister! Spread the word about irresponsible animal breeding and tell people Don’t Shop, Adopt!

    I’ll also be doing an extensive post on which companies do and don’t test on animals soon after I get some emails from the companies.

  9. marian says:

    love your creativity! your nail art is fab. Love the colour experimentation too.
    muah x
    marian.

Leave a Reply

