MAC Peppermint Patty Franken

MAC recently released a medium light green creme polish (not a pastel, but close) in green, called Peppermint Patty. Apparently it is sold out, and I got a request to franken it.

I’ve not seen the color in real life, so I am going with photos I saw on the internet. It appears to be a cool green, made with more blue than yellow, and it’s medium light. 

You can make this out of yellow. blue and white, but it’s easiest to start with a green and lighten it up. For this franken and others like it, mix your base color (green) and then add the green to a little puddle of white creme polish. Mix, then add more green if you want a darker color.

Since the MAC finish appears to be creme, you should use all cremes too if you want to re-create PP. But if you just want a color inspired by PP, feel free to use shimmer, glitter…whatever you like!

This was made of  10 drops New York Summer brand Amaranth, a medium creme green, and 5 drops creme white. Mix and apply 2 coats. You may need to mix two batches because this dries pretty fast.

I’ve taken as many pictures in different lights to show you the color. I do have bubbles from my $!$% topcoat, which I should have thinned first, as it thickened up.

img_3518

Indoor flourescent light, no flash.

img_3542

Full sun with flash.

img_3528

Natural light, no flash.

img_3534

Probably the most accurate color shot, indoors near sunlight.

This is a cool color, but easily frankenable, so I’d save your money unless you just particularly wanted PP.

But this color just needed something a little extra. For a quick n’ easy fun spring mani, add some dots. I just used my dotting tool and some pink, yellow and white polish and dotted away.

img_3556

 I hope you like this fun springy manicure!

Coming up: One more Easter manicure, and a list of  cosmetic companies that do and don’t test on animals.

China Glaze, OPI, Essie, Orly, Seche, Color Club, Sally Hansen all signed statements saying they do NOT test.

But Covergirl, Maybelliene and L’Oreal (still checking that) are still testing or using suppliers who do. I’m still confirming details at the moment.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Famous Frankens, Greens and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MAC Peppermint Patty Franken

  1. Deniz says:

    Beautiful! Looks between For Audrey and Peppermint Patti to my opinion, and that’s even better =) Peppermint Patti is a tad bit closer to yellow to me.
    I loved your Kelly Green! I voted for Green, you should do them more, because you come up with fantastic frankens =)

  2. Lucy says:

    Jen thank you so much for coming up with that franken. I will have to try it sometime. I love how you dotted it up. So cutesy and I love it! Have a Happy Easter.

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    I think you did a good job on this franken! It looks a lot like PP.

  4. Kae says:

    Is it wrong your nails make me hungry for sweets?!

  5. Brooke says:

    I adore the dots!!! Something so simple as adding dots can totally change a plain mani to such a cute, artistic, eye catcher, can’t it?

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone- please check out my latest post to see what a color obsessed weirdo I am.

    Deniz- Green looks like it might be the winner- if not this time, I’ll do it in the future because I also love green!

    Lucy- Always a pleasure! I love getting requests.

    Brooke- I lurrve dots too! It takes 30 seconds and makes a fun mani.

  7. Nancy Uribe says:

    Hello, I just tried to make your version of Mac peppermint patti nail polish and it appears to be wrong. Recheck your formula because your color counts are wrong. You say ten drops of amaranth and five of white but it goes the other way around. And like that it works with more or less white. It is difficult without having the original in your hands. Thanks for your attention!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hmm, I don’t still have the original Amaranth I used as it’s long been mixed away, but Ido remember mine being very watery and I used more of the Amaranth than the white. The main thing is that Amaranth and white will yield a Peppermint Patty-ish color- have fun with the mixing!

Leave a Reply

