Egyptian Hieroglyphs and Don’t Shop for a Pet, Adopt a Pet!

Warning: Rant ahead. Just skip to the nail pics if you don’t want to read it.

I’ve been having a bit of a rough week.  The weather has been gorgeous, but a few things are getting me down- being way too busy, my job, planning for the future, and just the general uncertain times that we live in at the moment.

So, I when I had a few minutes to kill before an appointment, I decided I’d do some window shopping at a girly department store where they sell lots of cosmetics and nail goods. A welcome distraction, right?

Not as it turned out. They were having a “Puppy and Kitten Festival” in the basement of the department store- featuring several hundred puppies and kittens, all crammed several into a cage and looking too young to be away from their mothers- but hey, a cute, tiny dog in Japan is more important than a healthy, well-adjusted dog. Of course, all the ladies were squealing and saying how cute the dogs would look in their handbags.

Worst of all, they had lots of daschunds, my absolute favorite dog. They tend to be inbred in Japan because people want a spotted daschund. Spotted or ‘dappled’ daschunds are not found in nature, and are attained by breeding mother, son and grandchildren together repeatedly. The dogs are genetic disasters and tend to have a lot of health problems. But of course, that didn’t matter to the customers- they just want an unusual dog that no one else has.

The whole scene at the department store was absurd- like “Get Your Puppies Directly From The Puppy Mill and Save Big!” That’s what it was like, seriously. Those dogs will be purchased by people who see them as accessories and will dump them as soon as they get too big, need attention or cost money, and then they will move onto another puppy. Repeat. And the Japanese puppy mill will keep churning out ever  more unusual, tinier puppies. I don’t even want to begin to think about what happens to the puppies they don’t sell- the puppies cost over $2000 US here, and I’m not sure people will be buying. Land is pretty expensive in Japan, and I don’t think those “breeders” have a nice big farm where they let the unsold adult dogs romp around in forever.

Soo, all that being said, I would like to remind everyone to:

1) Really think it over before you buy a pet (including those Easter chicks and Easter bunnies for the kiddies!): Do you have the time and money for that animal? Does everyone in the house want a pet? Don’t get a dog just to chain it outside. Dogs will need attention every day. Don’t buy an animal on impulse or as a gift unless you are certain the person is able to care for it properly.

2) Don’t shop, adopt! Just walk on by the pet store- don’t buy an animal there. It’s hard, I know, but the dogs in there most likely came from a puppy mill. There are lots of purebreds and great dogs at shelters- check it out. You may save a life! Also, there are tons of specific breed-group rescues on the internet- I know of at least three for daschunds alone. You may have to take a drive to pick out the newest member of your family, but you can give a great dog a wonderful forever home. You will also get a wealth of information about any dog you plan to adopt from the dog’s  foster family, who has helped the dogs transition from abuse/neglect into a loving home.

3) And, of course, like Bob Barker of the old Price is Right used to say, Spay and neuter your pets! One dog or cat roaming around can make a lot of unwanted puppies or kittens.

I walked out of the store and will never, ever go back again. I could say a lot more, but because this is a nail blog, I’ll stop here.

***End Rant, Move Onto Nails***

So, I went home with a very heavy heart from all that I saw. I needed some humor in a big way.

I decided a silly manicure would give me a laugh. I’m not ignoring or forgetting about what I saw, and I will take steps to make a change for the better, but I just needed a lift to get me through the day.

Onto the Egyptian hieroglpyh nails! Of course these are tips. I wanted each nail to look like an Egyptian tablet. I painted the base with a nasty sand/peanut butter color I mixed with neon orange, green, brown and white (you do not want to duplicate this base color- it was pretty hideous) . From there, I used a Sharpie marker and my Sally Hansen nail art pen to put hieroglyphic doodles on.

Among the classical Egyptian hieroglyphs like the cane, ankh and eye of Horus, I snuck in some polish-related hieroglyphs. On my index finger is a hand with polished nails, and there is a tiny bottle of nail polish and a nail polish brush on my ring finger on either side of the ankh.

img_2002

img_1999

Thanks for reading this post. I realize it’s not about nails directly, and I’d like to thank everyone for taking the time. We are fabulous gals (and guys) and there is nothing fabulous about animal suffering!

Updated:

For more information on puppy mills/ pet mistreatement and what you can do to stop it:

http://www.prisonersofgreed.org/

http://www.hsus.org/pets/issues_affecting_our_pets/

And for rescuing my favorite kind of dog, the weiner dog (aka daschund):

http://www.c2cdr.org/

http://www.almosthomerescue.org/

http://www.drna.org/

There are lots of other breed rescues as well for any kind of dog/cat you can imagine and then some!

Thanks again for reading and being wonderful, compassionate  and well-manicured folks!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Cruelty-Free/Animal Testing, Non-Nail Stuff, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Egyptian Hieroglyphs and Don’t Shop for a Pet, Adopt a Pet!

  1. Brooke says:

    I read the rant and I agree! There is nothing worse than a dog chained up all day outside by himself, I feel so sorry for those dogs. I hope someone reads what you said, and it gives them some knowledge they didn’t already have. Hope your weekend takes a turn for the better girl :)

    You are always so creative! The additions of the nail polish hands and bottles – too cute! Can you imagine what sort of things people today would leave painted on walls! lol

    THe base color reminds me of penut butter :)

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Brooke- I feel a little better already! :)

  3. Lisa says:

    I totally agree with your rant – I’ve been known to rant about this as well. Looking through craigslist makes me really sad, since there are so many ads with pets that owners just decide they don’t want anymore. They really shouldn’t have gotten one in the first place if they were willing to make the commitment to their pet!

    On the positive side, I have the sweetest, most lively cat that I adopted from a rescue.

    In any case, today’s nail was really creative! After reading your blog, I may have to start frankening my own creations…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for stopping by Lisa! But most of all, thanks for rescuing a cat! :)
      Let me know how your frankens go!

  4. Kae says:

    I love all dogs to bits and never buy from a store, it’s not much but I refuse to contribute to a puppy mill. Sorry you had to see that in store. Your nail art looks great too :D

    On a side note, your orange fimo from a while back got me doing a spring look with fimo flowers! They make so many intricate designs it’s amazing.

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Go Kae! Spread the word sister! :)
    I love those Fimo bits, I’m thinking of making some myself for a candy-themed manicure.

  6. Alexlyndra says:

    You’re so creative! You inspire me. ;D

  7. Areli says:

    The puppy mill sounds horrible! I wish people would realize the significance of animals’ lives too. It’s unfortunate but thankfully there are those who care. Hopefully positive changes happen. I doubt it will happen soon but i’d like to hope it will in the near future.

    Love the hiero :)!

  8. Nessa says:

    That is soo horrible! In the basement of a department store?! Is that usual in Japan? Recently in one of the suburbs of Chicago, the police broke up a puppy mill, and in a department store- no less!
    I got my dog from a breeder, I really wanted to get one from a shelter b/c it would be saving a life, but the breed that my boyfriend and I wanted we really didn’t want to get a mix or one that was an inbred. She’s an American Staffordshire Terrier (a form of a pit) and she is the sweetest thing ever! She wants to lick everyone’s face, but she is also our protector-we had someone try to break in and she scared them off. Just last night someone was walking really fast behind my bf for no reason and she started barking at them and scared them off as well. I know your post was not about dogs that have the ‘rap’, but I guess I’m ranting now too.
    My next dog will be from the animal shelters (a husky) b/c I want to do my part!
    Very creative nails especially using the Sharpies- very resourceful!

  9. Lucy says:

    I totally agree with you sweetie. It is very disheartening to see all those puppies crammed in their cages. It makes me sick to see how those puppies are kept. Oprah had a very good show on the puppy mills. It was so upsetting! I would love to have a dog but I’m unable to have one. It would cost $25 extra a month for rent and the rent is high enough! I grew up always having cats and dogs. I really miss having them. They give so much love and joy to you. I love your manicure! It’s so beautiful and creative. Love the Egyptian look.

  10. elaine pimentel says:

    We have 2 dogs that we picked up off the streets and have been awesome!!! Isn’t there an animal organization that can call attention to those poor dogs (at the store and the park)? SPCA has an international branch, IFAW, so many others. Please let us know updates!! Take care and bless you for, at least, trying to give a voice to the voiceless. Would a reporter do a story on those issues or a media college student take an interest? God bless… Want to help animals for free? Go to freekibblekat.com, freekibble.com and thehungersite.com

  11. Dia says:

    NICE!! PRETTY!! IM OBSESSED with Ancient Egypt and A VEGAN so you know you have my attention…..by the way…is there anyway to find out if Sharpies are cruelty free?? Thanks! Please feel free to email me the answer if you prefer at DiaPinky_89@hotmail.com

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

