Purple Smoke

I think today will be the last day of Purple Week, as it’s officially Friday here in Japan, and I’ve had a lot of fun. I have a few more to show you throughout the day, so we’re not finished yet!

Here’s a dusty purple made with a gray base and a very fine microshimmer on top. First, I mixed neutral purple with half red and half blue (Essie Jelly Apple for the red, China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway for the blue). This made a medium-dark neutral purple, like grape soda. From there, I added some crème gray (black and white, of course) and added it to the purple base. Add slowly as it’s easy to overwhelm the purple with too much gray. This made a medium dusty purple.

This is the resulting shade but I wanted to show you how glitter could change the effect. Same color, but a totally different impression. To make the sort of powdered sugar microglitter finish, I added a thin coat of OPI Hollywood Blonde, a very translucent pink with superfine white/silver microglitter.  It has a sort of old-world fairy tale feeling that I always like to get in my manicures.

img_3262

img_3264

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Purple Smoke

  1. Lucy says:

    This is a densely packed purple. Love the subtle shimmer.

Leave a comment