Purple Party

Purple week continues! I wanted a really festive purple, and I also wanted to use some glitter and little confetti that  I had around.

I mixed a dark purple base from 10 drops China Glaze Red Curl Girl, a red shimmer with red glassy flecks, and a couple drops of OPI Russian Navy, a dark blue with slight purple microshimmer. This made a dark shimmery purple. From there, I added some silver shimmer eyeshadow to the mix- it was a Body Shoppe silver Shimmer Cube, which is superfine pigment compressed into a cube. I just used an eyeshadow brush to brush it into my little silicone baking cup with the polish in it. After that, I added some Sinful Colors Blue and Purple Glitter (creative name, huh?) and mixed it all up.  It made a complex and interesting shimmer/glitter.

img_2814

img_2809

From there, I added a little bit of confetti I had, and then Konaded flowers over it.  I figured this design was pretty over the top: shimmer, glitter, confetti….so why not some Konad?

img_2830

img_2831

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Konad, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Purple Party

  1. wixology says:

    Which Konad plate did you use for this look? Or is it more than one?

    Also, I am trying to set up a link from my blog to yours and was trying to find your first name for my description of you/your blog- would you mind if I used your first name, only?

    Thanks in advance,
    ~Monica
    wixology.wordpress.com

  2. Lucy says:

    It’s a party on your fingers! They are having a fantastic time. Love all the flashes from the glitter.

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Monica- sorry I didn’t specify which plate. I am very bad about that, sorry. It’s plate M24, one single stamp. My name is Jen and feel free to go ahead and link!

    Lucy- It was a party for sure! I’ll be doing some more confetti looks in the future.

  4. wixology says:

    Thanks Jen- I linked to you.

    I have been having some difficulty with my photos. They showed up for the first two days, then disappeared if they weren’t in a “gallery” setting.

    How do you upload your pictures? Do you have any recommendations?
    Would you mind checking out my blog and giving me some feedback?

    I am trying to upload from Photobucket as I type, so please forgive the mis-matched photo sizes, that is, if you can see them at all…

    I love this purple, especially, by the way- the glitter effect is complex and beautiful! =D

  5. wixology says:

    Thanks so much for your input, Jen.

    Unfortunately, it’s the photos I uploaded from my hard drive that disappeared. The gallery has remained the same in both posts.
    This is why I have turned to Photobucket; I hope to prevent it from happening altogether.

    The placement of the links seems to be determined by the “theme” I chose, but, like you, I prefer the black background and this was the only one that I really was drawn toward.

    As a blogger I look up to, it means so much that you took the time to give your thoughts.
    Thanks again, Jen! =]

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hi Monica,
    It was my pleasure to look at your blog! I’ll add it to my Blogroll – I do have a bunch of links to add. I found that WordPress has pretty good customer service by email, even for the free accounts. If your photos keep disappearing, they may know the answer.

Leave a Reply

