Vintage Purple

As you ladies may know from reading my blog, I love gray-based colors. Mushroomy, muted, dusty, faded…there a lot of different terms, but they all refer to a color with gray (or sometimes brown) in the base. I also appreciate vibrant colors, but sometimes I like a vintage feel rather than a bright traffic-stopper.

You can make gray-based from any color. The trick is go slowly because the color can change dramatically when gray is added.

First, I mixed neutral purple with half red and half blue (Essie Jelly Apple for the red, China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway for the blue). This made a medium-dark neutral purple, like grape soda. From there, I mixed up some crème gray (black and white, of course) and added the purple base to it.

img_3294

 img_3291

I’m still working with the Konad tip patterns. This is a sort of basket-weave geometric tip that I stamped on in black. I think it adds some flair but I’m still a little crooked!

img_3297

img_3300

I liked this color a lot, so I actually saved some to use again. I applied it again but with glitter and will show you the results later in a new post. When sparkle is added to this one, it’s really different- I can’t decide which I like better.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Konad, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vintage Purple

  1. Lucy says:

    Love the grayed purple. Also like the tip design.

  2. This just gave me a great idea for some nail art!!! I think I have that same konad plate too, so I’m going to attempt it tonight :)

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Lucy- That’s kind of you- I still need to get my tips right. I’m trying a new technique so hopefully they’ll be perfectly sraight.

    Brooke- I can’t wait to see what you do!

  4. Pingback: Purple Smoke « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

