Fruit Salad

I’ve been sick for the past couple of days-  cough, fever, achy body and generally just shuffling around miserable. I think I’ll spend the weekend in with a hot cup of tea.

I decided on a cheery fruit theme for today. It was my first time to try overlapping Konads, and I like the result.

First, I painted my nails with a bright white shimmer. Then I added one coat of China Glaze Yell-Oh, a yellow semi-creme with yellow glass flecks. I didn’t want to apply the 3-4 coats required for the Yell-oh to be opaque, so the bright white base coat helped there.

img_2958

Next, fruits galore!

img_2964

First, I stamped one fruit on each nail, but there was some empty space, and it seemed lonely. So I decided to double stamp and let some images sit on top of each other. But I wanted to make the overlapping images less opaque so the design wasn’t overwhelmed. To mix less opaque colors (check out the kiwi on my middle finger), combine the Konad polish with a regular polish and the resulting image will be lighter and more translucent.

img_2963

Also, I  let some of the design fade off the edge of the nail, like the lime on my index finger. I stuck on a couple of jewels and there you have it!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Konad, Nail polish, Yellows and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fruit Salad

  1. Nixxy says:

    Oooh! Makes me want to break out the maracas and do a Carmen Miranda dance! :)

  2. Lucy says:

    Love your fruit salad nails. Very cute. Feel better.

  3. Areli says:

    Very festive looking! :) I’ve actually never seen fruit salad themed nail art before :P Great idea! And the kiwi looks so good!

    Thank you for measuring your image plate for me hun :) I’m afraid that I would still have to buy a whole new kit because I can’t–for the life of me!–seem to get the nail polish off the plate and onto the stamper :( any ideas?

    i’m so problematic >_<

    Hope you feel better hun!!! =D

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Lucy and Nixxy,
    Thanks! I’m glad you liked the fruit and I hope to be feeling better soon (before Monday anyway because I’m running out of sick days!)

    Areli,
    Roughen up your stamper a little bit with an emery board or file and try to pick up the stamped image again. Sometimes they are too smooth when they are brand new. Before you give up, do a Google search for “konad troubleshooting” or “how to Konad” and you will find some good videos. It is tricky at first, but at least try to roughen your stamper a little first.

  5. Jen says:

    Thanks for doing a post with this plate! I haven’t tried Konad yet but this plate is on my wishlist. :) I love the fruits. :) I can’t wait to try my own fruit themed nails.

Leave a Reply

