Japanese Dollar Store Nail Polish

I decided to show the world what nail polish goodies can be found for around $1 US in Japan. I use a lot of dollar store nail polishes in my frankens. I don’t mind experimenting with $1, but a $25 bottle would be different.Here’s some dollar store goodies I picked up.

img_2446

img_2448

Small bottle and crummy brush, but these are nice opaque metallics that I franken with often.

img_2454

A brand called Palladium 09, the most elusive of all dollar-store polishes.  The orange/yellow is the exact color of Kraft Macaroni cheese powder and the green is an interesting dirty Granny Smith green with darker green microshimmer. Both really unique.

img_2455

Nice and sparkly, in a base the same color as the sparkle so at least you get some color on the nail as well as glitter. These have a fine-tip brush, but I just dump them in my franken-pot and paint on with a regular brush. Really sparkly and good to go in 2 or 3 coats. I don’t know how well they wear on their own as I usually franken with them, but the quality seems pretty good.

img_2463

I’m going out later today with darks on, so I didn’t want to put on the glitter and take it off, so I’ll show you the samples on some tips:

img_24681

img_2470

The green on the upper left hand corner is my favorite- green base, chunky green glitter…this is going to be worked into a few St.Patty’s Day manis!

img_2471

We will shortly be returning to our regularly scheduled frankens. I’ll be doing a Rescue Beauty Lounge Concrete Jungle franken soon. I have not used any RBL, but part of me wants to say they should be ashamed for charging $18 for a simple gray, unless it’s really, really good no-streaks-in sight-gray. I’d cough up $18 for something fantastic, but gray?!?!? That being said, it is a nice gray, but save yer bucks for something unfrankenable.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Supplies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Japanese Dollar Store Nail Polish

  1. Those colors look amazing! Unfortunately, most of the colors at dollar stores are usually boring reds and pinks nobody wanted…

  2. Nessa says:

    Those are some awesome dollar store nps! All the ones that I find by me are plain colors and separating.
    Now you just made everyone jealous!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    In Japan, they’re not name-brand polishes that were unpopular, they’re meant to be a buck. But I find that they aren’t too bad. No names and no brand, so it’s hard to describe them sometimes when I’m trying to write a franken-recipe.

  4. Elisa says:

    Wow! Same with everyone else, the dollar stores here are so boring and definitely not nail polish-friendly! All of the colors are reds and pinks :( Can’t wait to see your St. Patrick’s Day mani! :D

  5. Delirium~ says:

    Would that be a 100yen store to go looking for these in? ;)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      These were from a 100 yen store called The Daiso, which has branches all over Japan. Have fun! You can find the dollar stores as they have a flag that says ¥100 (100 yen) outside, and they are usually pretty crowded. There is even a 100 yen shop in Funabashi City, 25 minutes from Tokyo, which has 7 floors of merchandise all 100 yen.

  6. Lucy says:

    Great colors for a dollar store. Do you have a lot of makeup in the dollar store?

  7. pam2japan says:

    Wow, you have an awesome selection of 100 yen polishes. I really need to find The Daiso! There’s a Seria where I am which carries an amazing selection of AC polishes, but I’d love to check out some other brands. Thanks for sharing~

  8. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Lucy- there is all kinds of interesting stuff in the 100-yen store here. All manner of makeup, glitter, plastic jewels, fake tattoos, etc. They had some amazing, rich jewel-toned eyeshadows. Sometimes the quality is a bust, but for $1 I take a chance if it looks good. The makeup tends toward the drag-queen side of things, but we can all use a little fabulousness in our lives, right?

    Pam2Japan: Where are you? There are a lot of Daisos in Japan as well as a couple overseas- I know Vancouver has one. Daiso has an English website with a store list, I believe. Happy shopping!

  9. pam2japan says:

    I’m in Hikone, on Biwako. There’s probably one here, so I’ll keep my eyes peeled for it. Also, could you tell me in Japanese what the gradation liquid you used for your fantastic orange manicure is called?

    Also, I just love your blog. I’m glad I stumbled upon it. I look forward to many awesome frankens here.

  10. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hi Pam- nice area, I used to live in way northern Kyoto and went to Lake Biwa a couple of times.
    I didn’t actually use gradation liquid for that manicure, I just mixed the creme polishes together wet and then applied a quick-dry topcoat (Seche Vite). But in answer to your question, gradation liquid is called グラデーション・リックイド or グラデーション・液体 (ekitai). Basically just “gradation liquid” in katakana. Happy hunting!

  11. A seven floor dollar shop!!!!!! I would be in there for HOURS!! Really great stuff. Japan has the whole glitter thing down pat! I love getting to hear about all the cool stuff Japan has, thanks for sharing.

  12. pam2japan says:

    Ah, グラデーション・リックイド! Thank you! I’m off to hunt. :)

Leave a Reply

