Desiree

Now back  to our regularly scheduled frankens!

My boss got a gorgeous orchid. It’s a fussy diva, like all orchids, and I’m supposed to be taking care of it. I once killed an air plant- you know, those supposedly-indestructible gimmicky plants that don’t need watering and “can survive anywhere?” Yes, I killed one, and now I’m trying to keep this pricey, giant orchid alive.

First step: Look up care instructions. It needs a certain humidity, temperature range, and an east-facing window with sunshine, but no so strong that the leaves get hot or any shadows are cast. Good luck. This orchid is doomed.

Since all that is pretty impossible, I came up with another plan:  Talk to the plant. Plants like it, they really do. So, in order to address it properly, I named it Desiree. Also, plants like it when the fingernails in their environment are coordinated to their petals.

Hence, I give you today’s color: Desiree.

img_2300

Desiree the orchid is a bit photo-shy, so I can’t compare the colors for you, but this was a perfect match. I think this would be a great summer color.

This is Color Club Power Play, a neon purple, mixed with a reddish neon orange. To make the neon orange, I mixed one drop of Color Club Explosive (neon orange) with 10 drops of creme red and added the mix to 10 drops Power Play. I then added another 10 drops of creme red to the mixture.

This is as red as purple can get without crossing into burgundy. I usually prefer blue-based purples, but then that wouldn’t have matched Ms.  Desiree.

But wait! There’s more!

img_2304

img_2305

I dabbed blue and white polish on the Konad plate and swirled it to try and get a sort of tie-dyed stamp. An interesting effect, but I don’t have it quite perfect yet.  It came out best on the pinkie but sort of mixed together on the other fingers.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Konad, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Desiree

  1. Elisa says:

    WOW! that is so GORGEOUS! Along with all of your other frankens! they are truly one of a kind! I would never have thought that such variety could be possible and still look absolutely dazzling! :D

    I’m not sure if you’ve done it before but I just want a small opinion…is it possible to create a dupe of Rescue Beauty Lounge’s Concrete Jungle? Rescue Beauty Lounge nail polishes are just so expensive! I was wondering if it was enough to just use white and black? Or is it a….blue? I’m not completely sure…all i’m sure off is that $18 is not so worth it O_O I would appreciate any help! :)

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks for your nice comment!
    I checked some online photos for RBL Concrete Jungle, and there is definitely blue in the base. They do make some nice colors, but $18 is a little crazy, especially for an easily frankened color.
    Offhand, I’d say a base of black creme mixed in with a very light glacier blue creme. I will do a franken of this for you soon, probably this weekend. Stay tuned and thanks for reading!

  3. Elisa says:

    Yay i’m so excited! :D
    You are definitely the franken-master :)

  4. Lucy says:

    Good luck with the orchid! Crazy manicure. You are really the franken queen. You must make yourself a crown to wear.

  5. Jamie says:

    Beautiful – I love it! I bet the orchid is gorgeous too…

    If it’s a phalenopsis in moss or bark, don’t fret too much about it. Once a week, give it a good soaking with water, and after the moss/bark is thoroughly wet, drain the pot, and then put it back in the window. Don’t water it again until the moss is pretty well dry, so the roots won’t rot. They’re sturdier than people give them credit for. :-)

  6. Good luck on the plant! Great base color! Looks very jelly-licious!

  7. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone!
    Lucy- hmm, I think I have an old Burger King crown somewhere, maybe I can stick pictures of nail polish on it. ;)

    Jamie- Desiree is a phalenopsis. Thanks for the tips. It appears that the only windows in the office are a little too sunny. It’s blazing full sun, so I tried to put her a little bit away from the window. I hope this thing is sturdy!

    Brooke- Thanks as always! I’m working to get more jelly shades because I really love them, but they can be tricky.

Leave a Reply

