Glazed Carrot

First of all, sorry for the smudges, bad cuticles and general nail disarray. I wanted to make an orange version of China Glaze Ruby Pumps or Emerald Sparkle- a smooth, glossy glitter-laden strong color.

First of all, I made a base of carrot orange, 1/3 red and 2/3 yellow creme. Get the most translucent colors you  have for the most successful result. The base can’t be too opaque, or your sparkles will be all glunky and the finish will be very rough.

I painted one coat of the base on, and while it was still wet, I mixed in some Sinful Colors Serena and Chloe, a translucent sparkly orange. (Let me say that Serena and Chloe is a great color. I’ve never seen a duplicate of it. It’s a shimmery burnt orange with orange glitter. It’s really unique and is pretty good quality.) After the base + S&C was mixed, I dumped in some orange glitter from the craft store. I then applied one coat of the mix and Voila!

img_17461

img_17471

Orange-except for coral shades-  is kind of an overlooked color in the nail world, probably because it looks good on so few skin tones.  But this glitter orange might be fun for Halloween.  At the least, it’s cheerful for winter.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Oranges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glazed Carrot

  1. Brooke says:

    I was totally thinking Halloween while looking at this color. I really like this one.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Yeah, it’s way more Halloween than winter, but it was fun to make. I saw you mentioned Serena and Chloe on your blog- isn’t it a fantastic color? I don’t know why it’s so overlooked. I knew I couldn’t wait until October to use iti!

  3. It is a great color. I was so shocked when I saw it there because I pretty much have looked at every color offered by Sinful and have never noticed it before until a couple of weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

