New Year’s Eve Blingtacular

I usually don’t do much for New Year’s, but it’s the ultimate sparkly holiday. Even the ball in Times Square is silver and glittery- so a non-sparkly New Year is unthinkable. Even if I’m just watching movies at home, there will be glitter.

I really wanted to post these for you before the holiday, but I had a CF card and my folks only had an SD reader. Oh, and no Internet. So I apologize for the belated bling, but I think you’ll find it very sparkly. This design came about because I thought the China Glaze Emerald Sparkle would make a fantastic olive. From there, the martini idea evolved. I did a quick re-do of the design as the original photos were lost, but you can get the general idea. I used tips and painted them with Color Club Magic Attraction, a thick silver based multi-color glitter, and then just threw a topcoat with all different glitters over it.

Behold the Glitter Olive!

img_1038

img_09901

I used the new Sally Hansen nail art pen that I got at Walgreen’s. It was $7.99, but they had a buy-one-get-one free. It’s a thin marker of water-based nail polish. It beads up on dried nail polish because it’s water based, so do not move until it’s dry. I prefer my Sharpie, which is cheaper and doesn’t smudge, but Sharpie can’t be sealed with a topcoat- or at least not one that I’ve discovered. Topcoat sort of melts it off, but I find that Sharpie will wear for a couple of days. I usually use Sharpie marker on tips rather than my real nails, but I don’t think it’s probably any worse for you than regular nail polish.

Below, under indoor lighting:

img_1032

Sorry about the belated post and hope everyone had a happy and safe New Year!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Year’s Eve Blingtacular

  1. shutendoji says:

    I am in awe of the glitter olive- behold it in all its sparkly glory!

  2. Great job on the olive! It looks really cool!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    The olive was really the whole reason for the design. I love that China Glaze Emerald Sparkle- I’m going to try to make a blue version in the near future. I’m thinking I want to make a set of nails with sparkly fruits and vegetables if I can get the consistency of the glitter polish right. Strange, I know… if I start painting glitter bananas maybe it’s a sign I’ve been in Japan too long!

Leave a Reply

