Christmas Swirls

I’m in the middle of packing (still!) but I wanted to do at least one more post before we move and lose our Internet. I only did four fingers because I’m really short on time!

This is a really simple design that’s fun and seasonal. I wanted to make something that looked like Christmas wrapping paper.

img_08161

img_0830

The base is a pinkish red shimmer, but choose whatever you like! Over the base, I drew the swirls randomly with creme white and a thin brush. After the white dried, I painted over it with translucent green (yellow + blue, but make sure it’s translucent so you can see it against the red. If the green is too dark, it won’t stand out as much.  In some areas, I painted over the white swirl and over the pinkish area as well to break it up a little.

Finally, I added a couple highlights with the white again to add a little interest.

img_0832

I wish I had some glitter and rhinestones for a finishing touch, but they’re all packed.Tomorrow is the big day and we’re STILL not close to done. Yigads… wish me luck (and no broken nails!)

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Swirls

  1. Good luck on your move, and can’t wait until you got your internet back up and running!

Leave a Reply

