Winter Wonderland

This was made with some snowflake stick-on decals. I wanted to paint them myself, but I’m short on time with the sudden move and all that year-end holiday stuff, so I cheated a bit.

This is four levels of blue gradation, from light tips to dark, with the decals stuck on top.

img_0780

img_0778

I painted my whole nails with a medium creme blue (third layer of gradation). It was from the dollar store- a good substitute would be China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway.

The tip is made of the medium creme blue and white pearl shimmer, with some silver glitter thrown in. I painted this across the tip, moving my finger rather than the brush.

Next layer: medium blue creme with yellow shimmer- OPI Lemonade Stand By Your Man and a couple drops of white to make an aqua blue.

Third layer: the medium blue creme alone.

Bottom layer: Blue creme mixed with a few drops black creme.

Finally, I stuck on a few snowflake decals randomly, and there you have it!

I walked through a big pile of leaves today, and it was warm enough so I didn’t need a jacket, so the only snow around will be on my nails.

By the way, here’s a picture without the decals so you can see the paint colors more clearly:

img_0783

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Holiday Nails, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Winter Wonderland

  1. I need to get me some of those snowflake stickers. I saw some on another blog and they look too cool! I can’t believe that you find time to pack, get ready for a trip AND still paint your nails. You rock girlie!

  2. Looks great!! Envious of your nail art and frankening skillz

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke, my legs look like woolly mammoths and I haven’t plucked my eyebrows in at least a week- but my nails, they will be done. The snowflake stickers are a lot of fun- they had some gorgeous ones with real rhinestones and they looked like a fairy wonderland- but they were 20 bucks.

    Katee- you will be amazed at what you can franken. Just start with cheapo polish and small amounts. Get a pack of nail tips and paint those, then write the formulas that you like the back on each nail.

  4. Karina says:

    This is one of my favorite gradations EVER! Nice job – incredibly festive – and beautiful, to boot.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you like it! Blues for winter can be a nice break from the ho ho ho red and greens sometimes.

  5. Deniz says:

    this will always be one of my favorites =) just looking at it makes me think of beautiful snowy nights =)

Leave a Reply

