Festive Waves

This is an abstract design for those of you who are not into cute things. It kind of reminds me of modern art. Well, if modern art had rhinestones. :)  I hope you’ll enjoy it.

img_0668

This was really simple. Start with a base of opaque white nail polish. Then, use a very thin brush to paint random waves with red and green polish. Leave some of the white showing through.

It’s easier to paint the stripes by putting the brush on your nail and moving your nail instead of the brush. Rotate your nail- this will give you better control and less drips than moving the brush across your nail.

Next, I added a topcoat of Glitterbomb, which is just a super-glittery topcoat I made out of leftover glitter poured into a bottle of clear topcoat.

Finally, I added some rhinestones on the pinkie.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Festive Waves

  1. I need to have some Glitterbomb explode on my nails! Don’t know if you guys have Wal-mart’s over there or not, but I was in one the other day and they had some glitter by Martha Stewart. This is some of the prettiest glitter I have ever seen. I immediatly thought of you and all the cool things you could do with it. Here is a link to martha stewart crafts:
    http://www.marthastewartcrafts.com/index.php?v=msc_prod_embe_glitter

    That’s an idea, but she doesn’t have listed on her site the ones I saw at walmart. It was a golden woodland collection. Anyway, very nice glitters! These were a really fine glitter, just beautiful!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Wow! Glitter! No Wal-Marts in Japan, but there is one near my parents’ house, which I will definitely check out when I go home for Christmas.
    A woodland collection sounds very intriguing. Thanks for the tip!

  3. joelyroely says:

    LOVE this one. three xmas’s ago… i want to try it this year :D

Leave a Reply

