Christmas Golds

Today is so sunny, I wanted to show you some nice holiday golds. They just don’t photograph well at night, so it’s a good chance to show them off today. I did a franken of Chanel Gold Fiction to show you as well.

I don’t want to pick on Chanel and high-end brands, but I see a lot of ladies thinking that Chanel is actually a better brand of nail polish. It’s not. I haven’t had great luck with it, personally. It usually applies well and has good coverage, but so do most drugstore brands. Heck, even Wet N Wild has a few good shades that perform well. If a color is totally unique, I would shell out the $20. Maybe. But that’s the thing- these luxury colors are not usually incredibly unique. It’s more about having a snazzy bottle on your dresser rather than a difference in quality.  So don’t get caught up in the hype of “it’s so much better because it’s designer.”

Oh, and yesterday I was wearing pretty tacky long pink and white stick-ons. So that’s why my nails are extra long and rather square in these photos. I was wearing them because I was looking at real estate- I want a new apartment. In Japan, manicured French nails = expensive. I needed to look high-class (hahaha!) so my usual bright colors wouldn’t have really been quite right. It’s totally legal here to refuse to let non-Japanese people rent apartments. As in ,”You’re American, so you can’t rent anything in this neighborhood.” So I needed to look well-off and classy, so I busted out my pre-painted pink and white French. If only they knew I’d bought them at Wal-Mart. But anyway.

First up, Orly Glitz. It’s an orange-based gold shimmer, like Chanel’s. But it’s more orangey than Gold Fiction and 1/10 of the price. Still, I’d call this more orange than gold, so we will have to darken that orange to get a more neutral gold color to match the Chanel perfectly.

img_0246img_0247

Here’s my franken of Chanel Gold Fiction. It’s a sort of brassy yellow gold like the Chanel, but is distinctly gold rather than orange. I’m not wild about this color or the Chanel, but I think it’s fairly accurate. I don’t like warm golds, but that’s because they just don’t work with my skintone all that well. I prefer a darker gold that looks like gold bullion rather than this warmer gold.

img_0545

img_0546

This was made with Orly Glitz as the base. I then dropped in Sinful Colors Rich in Heart, which is a wonderful blackened shade with dark red microshimmer. You can try using OPI’s Midnight in Moscow if you can’t find Sinful Colors- I got mine at a Walgreen’s for around $3. Rich in Heart is a treasure for all you vampy-lovers on a budget and has a nice formula too. But it’s dark and will quickly alter the shade, so just add a couple drops, mix, and then add another if your color is still too orange.

Next, if you want a gorgeous antiquey gold, check this out:

img_0572

img_0570

img_0565

This reminds me of ancient dubloons or pirate treasure. This is a mix of 3/4 Orly Glitz and 1/4 Sinful Color Rich in Heart, same two colors used in the Chanel Gold Fiction franken, just with more Rich in Heart. This is going to be my holiday gold as it looks like melted gold bullion and I like it better without the orange undertones. Both the Orly and Sinful Colors used in this are pretty on their own, and useful shades to franken with. And for around $6.50 for both bottles, you can add a couple cool colors to your collection and franken a lot of Chanel!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Famous Frankens, Holiday Nails, Metallic, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Golds

  1. I have yet to find a gold that I think looks good with my skin tone :(

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hmm, try a franken-maybe you’ll get something you like! I don’t like these orangey golds either- they look best on dark skin and I’m ghostly white.

    I actually like to use half metallic silver and half metallic gold to make a fun holiday metallic color. I also saw Chanel Kaleidoscope and it looks nice, but I’m not paying $25. I did a very passable franken of it but I didn’t want to pick on the entire Chanel holiday collection in one post. I’ll be sure to get that one up soon. It’s not a 100% match, but pretty close and about 1/500 of the Chanel price. :)

Leave a Reply

