Chanel Haute Chocolat Franken

This is my so-so attempt at frankening Chanel Haute Chocolat.

I’m not a huge Chanel fan. It’s very big in Japan, but  it’s even more expensive here than in the US- like $35 US in Tokyo. It’s luxurious and glamourous, but not worth the price to me.  I haven’t found one yet that’s worth it. Maybe I’m expecting too much, but almost forty bucks will get me a lot of franken manicures. With that in mind, I did decide to try frankening Chanel’s new fall shade, Haute Chocolat, mostly to see if I could do it. I have only seen swatches of it, not the real thing. It looks like a nice color but I read a lot of fairly negative reviews, esp. considering the price.

img_99691

I frankened my own and then went to the department store on my way home to check it out, and they didn’t have it. I wanted to do a side-by-side comparison.

I think my version is a little too dark. It was actually lighter than it appears in the photos (story of my life- I need to stop working sunup to sundown so I can get good sunlight photos!) but I was still satisfied with the rich brown color. For a perfect match, I think it needed a couple drops of jelly white and some more gold to get that slightly more chocolate-milk brown. But my franken cost me about ten cents or so. Can’t complain.

This is a jelly black plus dark green creme and creme orange mixed in equal amounts. I added some gold microshimmer and a teeny bit of translucent green flash (OPI Fireflies) to lighten it up a bit. It’s a good, rich fall color and multi-dimensional on the nail. With browns, stay away from too much warmth. It looks like poo. If you stay neutral brown, it’s much more wearable. Like neon green eyeshadow, brown with red undertones is a hard one to pull off.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Famous Frankens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chanel Haute Chocolat Franken

  1. BROOKE says:

    Beautiful color, this is really a nice shade.

Leave a Reply

