A Dracula Franken

I should do a true Franken-stein, but for now it’s Dracula. This one actually had to be done on nail tips. I wanted teeny Dracula heads on the pinkies but am nowhere near dexterous enough to accomplish that by myself. But the end effect was well worth it.


The base green color is medium blue, medium yellow, a tiny bit of neon yellow mixed together. From there, add your white creme until you get a good undead green. Use all cremes since Dracula shouldn’t be glimmery, at least not in my opinion. This is actually a cool color on its own as well. It’s a little darker and more intense than the Aquafresh Green I made a while ago.

For the blood drips, I just used a generic red with a thin brush. Make jagged icicle-like lines and add a few little random drips.

For Dracula, I made his widow’s peak with black, outlined it with the same red as the blood drips, and readers, though I am slightly ashamed to admit it, I used a fine-tip Sharpie marker to draw in his facial features. But I was already wearing nail tips, so why not use a permanent marker on those instead of my nails? At least my nails won’t be stained from it. Mostly, I just wanted a teeny pinkie-sized Dracula. Looking at it made me happy all day.

Super bonus for the incredibly gifted at nail art: Add teeny red rhinestones for the pupils. I didn’t have any small enough. I had to work late, so no chance to get any. But that would make Dracula even more vampirelicious.

By the way, I saw something similar to the Dracula head ages ago on a Russian (?) website. So while my theme is not 100% original, I think the colors, blood drips and the toothy grin are all me.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Dracula Franken

  1. Very cute! I especially love the blood dripping nails. And you are right, red jewels would have set off those dracula eyes. Once again, very good work!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks, I’m glad you liked it. I think this would look great on longer nails like yours. At least you’d have a bigger canvas to work with! I have to keep my nails pretty short for work and I type a lot, so I have to keep them short.

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Erm…it’s 6:45 and I haven’t had my coffee yet. Obviously. I tend to repeat myself before the caffiene starts flowing!

  4. pretear says:

    Love the blood! Can you do a tutorial for that?

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Yes, I’d be happy to do a blood tutorial. Give me a couple of days, and I’ll do a blood/flames tutorial.

Leave a Reply

